BCALA Announces the 2014 Literary Awards Winners

BCALA Announces the 2014 Literary Awards Winners
The Black Caucus of the
American Library Association, Inc. (BCALA) announces the winners of the 2014
BCALA Literary Awards during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library
Association in Philadelphia,
PA. The awards recognize
excellence in adult fiction and nonfiction by African American authors
published in 2013, including an award for Best Poetry and a citation for
Outstanding Contribution to Publishing. The recipients will receive the awards
during the 2014 Annual Conference of the American Library Association in Las Vegas, NV.


The winner of the 1st
Novelist Award is The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat: A Novel by Edward
Kelsey Moore (Alfred A. Knopf).
The Fiction category
winner is The Good Lord Bird: A Novel by
James McBride (Riverhead). The Honor Book for Fiction is The Residue Years: A Novel by Mitchell S. Jackson (Bloomsbury).
The winner in the
Nonfiction category is Ebony & Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the
Troubled History of America’s Universities
by Craig Steven Wilder (Bloomsbury).
Honor Books for Nonfiction
are Envisioning
Emancipation: Black Americans and the End of Slavery
by Deborah  Willis and Barbara Krauthamer  (Temple University Press); Kansas City Lightning: The
Life and Times of Young Charlie Parker
by Stanley Crouch (Harper); and Soul
Food: The Surprising Story of an American Cuisine, One Plate at a Time
Adrian Miller (The University of North Carolina Press).
The BCALA Literary Awards
Committee presents the Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation to Soul
Train: The Music, Dance, and Style of a Generation
by Ahmir “Questlove”
Thompson (Harper Design).
The winner for BCALA’s
Best Poetry Award is Chasing Utopia: A Hybrid by Nikki
Giovanni (William Morrow). The Honor Book for Poetry is Turn Me Loose: The Unghosting of
Medgar Evers
Frank X. Walker (University of Georgia Press).
Members of the BCALA
Literary Awards Jury are: Gladys Smiley Bell (Chair), Hampton University;
Jennifer Baxmeyer, Princeton University; Tracy Crawford, Queens Library’s
Langston Hughes Community Library and Cultural Center
; Carolyn
Garnes, Atlanta, GA; DL Grant, San Antonio Public Library; John Page,
Washington, D.C.; and Apryl Price, Florida State University.
BCALA Literary Award Seals
(http://www.bcala.org/literaryaward_seals.htm) are available for purchase and may be displayed on
these 2014 winners as well as all previous winner

Publishers interested in
submitting books for the 2015 awards should contact Gladys Smiley Bell, Chair,
at gladys.bell@hamptonu.edu