15 Dates of Importance, 1970 – 1985

[By Howard Rambsy]
1970The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison is published by Holt, Rinehart, and Winston Publisher.
1971The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman
by Ernest Gaines is published.

1972Mumbo Jumbo by Ishmael Reed is published
and becomes, along with Flight to Canada (1976),
one of Reed’s most critically acclaim works. 
1974The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman,
a television movie based on the novel by Ernest Gaines, is broadcast on CBS.
1975Corregidora by Gayl Jones is published.
1976Roots: The Saga of an American Family by
Alex Haley is published.
1976Flight to Canada by Ishmael Reed is
published. The novel becomes, along with Mumbo
(1972), one of Reed’s most critically acclaimed works.
1977Roots, the television mini-series, based
on Alex Haley’s novel, airs on ABC, on January 23 – 30.
1977Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison is chosen as a Book-of-the-Month
Club selection. The novel assists in giving Morrison national attention.
1979Kindred by Octavia Butler is published. The novel, which is based
on time travel and slavery, assists in bringing Butler attention beyond the
genre of science fiction.  
1980The Salt Eaters by Toni Cade Bambara is published.
1982 The Color Purple by Alice Walker is published.
1982 The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor is published.  
1983 – Alice Walker wins the
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award for Fiction for her
novel The Color Purple.  
1985 – Steven Spielberg
produces and directs The Color Purple,
a film based on Alice Walker’s novel.