15 Dates of Importance, 1912- 1939

[By Kenton Rambsy]
1913– Author and director Oscar Micheaux publishes his first
novel, Conquest: The Story Of A Negro
, through The Woodruff Press. The novel is published anonymously and
is based on his life as a homesteader.
1918Hope’s Highway
by Sarah Lee Brown Fleming is published by Neale Publishing Company

1923Cane by Jean
Toomer is published by Boni and Liveright.
1926-1927– Oscar Micheaux directs and
produces The Conjure Woman (1926) and The House Behind the Cedars (1927). These
two films are inspired by two novels by Charles Chesnutt.
1927– Knopf 
Publishing company republishes The
Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
with James Weldon Johnson being credited
as the author unlike the 1912 version.
1928The Walls of
by Rudolph Fisher is published by Knopf.  
1928Home to Harlem
by Claude McKay is published by Harper and Brothers.
1929– Claude McKay wins Harmon Gold Award for Literature for
his novel Home to Harlem.
1929Passing by
Nella Larsen is published by Knopf.
1929The Blacker the Berry: A Novel of Negro Life by Wallace Thurman is
published by the Macaulay Company
1930Not Without
, the only novel written by Langston Hughes, is published by Knopf.
1930– Nella Larsen becomes the first black person to be
awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. She uses the funds to travel Europe to write a
1931Black No More
by George Schuyler is published by The Macauley Company
1932One Way To
by Countee Cullen is published by Harpers.
1937Their Eyes Were
Watching God
by Zora Neale Hurston is published by J.B. Lippincott.